Group members

Prof. Taylor D. Sparks

Associate Professor & Associate Chair
Materials Science & Engineering Department
office: CME 314, phone: 801.581.8632
CV, publications

PhD Students

Jake Graser
office: HEDCO 209
phone: 801.739.1254
research area: tunable thermoelectric generators, data driven discovery of thermoelectrics
Marcus Parry
office: HEDCO 209
phone: 303.704.2490
research area: superhard ternary transition metal borides and carbides.
Recipient of the ARCS Fellowship and INL Graduate Fellowship.
Kaai Kauwe
office: HEDCO 209
phone: 801.636.2346
research area: machine learning and discovery of thermoelectrics.
Recipient of the Gerald Stringfellow Fellowship
Chong Lei
office: HEDCO 209
research area: electrochemically driven mechanical failure
Jason Hall
office: HEDCO 209
research area: machine learning of solid rocket fuel composites.
PhD Sponsored by Northrop Grumman Innovation Systems
Pooya Elahi
office: HEDCO 209
research area: non-equilibrium thermodynamics in electrochemical and thermoelectric systems
Husain Alnaser
office: HEDCO 209
research area: growth of quantum material single crystals

Ms Students

Amber Barron
office HEDCO 214
research area: Sustainable packaging materials. Sponsored by Proctor and Gamble.

Dani Beatty
office HEDCO 214
research area: HEA Alloys sponsored by INL LDRD and CO2 derived materials sponsored by Seerstone Development

Clark Nielson
office: HEDCO 214
research area: bioceramics
Jason Nance
office: HEDCO 214
research area: concrete and asphalt materials. Sponsored by UDOT.

Visiting researchers

Anthony Wang
office HEDCO 214
research area: Materials informatics with emphasis on featurizing processing.

undergraduate Interns and visitors

Kayla Mumford
research topic: spray pyrolysis of bioceramics
Conrad Clement
research topic: materials informatics, machine learning
Ryan Murdock
research topic: Generative Adversarial Neural Networks for battery optimization. UofU SPUR program awardee.

Konrad Serbinowski
research topic: machine learning. Citrine Informatics NextGen Fellowship recipient. Support from NSF REU Supplement.

Elise Buki
research topic: corrosion resistant alloys (part of an SBIR through HiFunda LLC)

Rosa Ward
research topic: superhard alloys. Support from NSF REU Supplement.

Brennan Theler
research topic: resource sustainability metrics

Travis Allen
research topic: corrosion resistant alloys for solar thermal (in conjunction with HiFunda SBIR)

Former group members and alumni


Dr. Jeff Bates University of Utah, Teaching Faculty in Materials Science and Engineering
Dr. Kyu Bum Han Senior Scientist, Hifunda LLC
Dr. Wu Wenjuan Chengdu University of Information Technology, Assistant Professor of Physics
Dr. Maged Bekheet Technical University of Berlin, Group Leader
Dr. Shadi Al Khateeb Al Balqa University of Technology, Assistant Professor

Graduate students

Garrett Meeks MS 2017, Williams International
Nasikul Islam Haliburton
Christian Robert MS 2018, IM Flash
Colton Fox MS 2018, US Synthetic
Leila Ghadbeigi PhD 2018, postdoc at the University of Utah
Ashley Kennedy MS 2019, Law School, University of Utah
Logan Kiefer MS 2019
Alexander Szendrei PhD 2019, IM Flash

interns (and their home institutions)

Elise Buki University of Utah
Shane Tory University of Utah
Ali Dibble University of Utah
Rishabh Sahani Jaypee University, India
Benjamin Gilmore University of Utah
Zixiao Liu University of Utah
Patrick Nichols University of Utah
Matthew Judge University of Utah
Mikal Hanna University of Utah
Ian Robinson University of Utah
Carl Luft University of Utah
Max Gallant University of Utah
Kyle Roberts University of Utah
Nic Flinner University of Utah
Alexandre Stella Sao Paulo University,Brazil
Pablo Moreno San Jose State University
Debora Costa Martins Pontifical Catholic University of Minas Gerais, Brazil
Thiago Trindade Federal University of Jequitinhonha and Mucuri Valleys, Brazil
Emily Timmins University of Utah
Laercio Martins Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
Brandon Day University of Utah
Kristina Lundgren University of Utah
Katie Sautter Pennsylvania State University
Suzanne Petryk Cornell University